Current news and events

EU SolidAct publishes resuts on Baricitinib as a Treatment for Hospitalized COVID-19 Patients

First author Marius Trøseid (left) and senior author Inge Christoffer Olsen.
First author Marius Trøseid (left) and senior author Inge Christoffer Olsen.

Oslo University Hospital leads and sponsor the EU-SolidAct platform trial with Professor Marius Trøseid as Chief Investigator and medical responsible, and Dr. Inge Christoffer Olsen as Head of Operations and Work Package leader in the overarching EU-project EU-RESPONSE.
The first drug tested on EU-SolidAct is baricitinib, a tablet approved for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis, atopic dermatitis, and alopecia areata. Results of the Bari-SolidAct clinical trial, conducted in 14 European countries, was published in Critical Care on January 10th 2023.
While this trial was stopped early due to external evidence and is therefore underpowered to assess survival benefit, a possible safety signal in vaccinated participants, who were older with more comorbidities, was observed.

Announcement: nominate a scientist for the 2023 OUH research awardsExcellent Researcher Award and Early Career Award

2022 winners (from left): Silje Fjellgård Jørgensen, Håvard Danielsen (main award) and Geir Ringstad
2022 winners (from left): Silje Fjellgård Jørgensen, Håvard Danielsen (main award) and Geir Ringstad

Oslo University Hospital hereby announce research awards in the following two catagories for 2023:

  • Excellent Researcher Award (one prize, 300.000 NOK)
  • Early Career Award (two prizes of 150.000 NOK each)

Closing date for nominations: March 17th 2023.

Longitudinal brain age prediction and cognitive function after stroke

Eva Birgitte AamodtFirst author
Eva Birgitte Aamodt
First author

Stroke is the second leading cause of death worldwide and a major cause of disability related to both functional and cognitive impairments. A recent study, part of the Nor-COAST study, and from the Department of Radiology and Nuclear Medicine, set out to investigate the link between post stroke neurocognitive disorder (NCD) and advanced brain ageing. The results have recently been published in Neurobiology of Aging, with Eva Birgitte Aamodt (photo) as first author.

February 16-17 2023 in Oslo:National Conference on the Heart and Brain

Heart & Brain
Heart & Brain

In the tradition of David Russell, Oslo University Hospital continues to organize the national heart and brain conferences.  On February 16-17 2023, the 6th National Conference on the Heart and Brain will be held at Oslo Congress Centre. 
The conference is the largest of its kind in Norway and provides a good opportunity for updating and networking. The speakers are from all over the country and are among the leading experts in their fields.
Chair of the programme committee is Anne Hege Aamodt, leader of the Headache, stroke and covid research group at the Department of Neurology.

Researcher-of-the-year 2022 at the Institute for Cancer Research:Kushtrim Kryeziu

Kushtrim Kryeziu
Kushtrim Kryeziu

Kushtrim Kryeziu is 37 years and defended his PhD at the Medical University of Vienna in 2016. Kryeziu was recruited to the Lothe lab in 2016 via an EU financed fellowship and was included in the Scientia Fellows postdoc program at the University of Oslo. His recruitment has proven highly beneficial for the development of the current project on functional oncology in advanced solid tumors. His competence in molecular cell biology and hands-on experience with anti-cancer drug development was instrumental to the development of our pre-clinical pharmacogenomics platform. Kryeziu has recently accepted a permanent position at the Institute for Cancer Research. 

Oslo University Hospital has awarded 6 excellent articles for the first half-year of 2022

Prize winners
Prize winners

In order to stimulate excellent research and draw attention to the hospital's research activity, Oslo University Hospital rewards outstanding publications every half-year. 

Six research groups were awarded for their excellent papers published the first half-year of 2022 during a ceremony on December 7th.  

Each group received NOK 50.000 for use in further research, and the prize winners gave short presentations of their main findings.

 

Pharmacogenomics to improve transplantation oncology of metastatic colorectal cancer

Anita Sveen and Pål-Dag Line
Anita Sveen and Pål-Dag Line

Molecular biologist Anita Sveen and surgeon Pål-Dag Line join forces in a new project to improve the patient benefit from liver transplantation of metastatic colorectal cancer. This is a collaborative effort between Dept Molecular Oncology (KRE) and Dept Transplantation Medicine (KIT)

The project is a translational substudy of ongoing clinical studies and will generate the first large-scale molecular and pharmacological data of transplantable metastatic colorectal cancers. This project was recently supported by a research grant from the Norwegian Cancer Society.

Maja Radulovic first author on EMBO J article:An ER for damaged lysosomes

Maja Radulovic
Maja Radulovic

Maja Radulovic, postdoc in Harald Stenmark's group at Institute for Cancer Research and Centre for Cancer Cell Reprogramming, has previously shown that a molecular machinery known as ESCRT contributes to repair damaged lysosomes. Now, Maja and her co-workers have revealed an additional mechanism that contributes to lysosome repair, namely lipid transfer from the endoplasmic reticulum (ER). The results are published in the prestigious EMBO Journal, in an article entitled "Cholesterol transfer via endoplasmic reticulum contacts mediates lysosome damage repair".

Ceremony November 25thDr Ragnar Mørk´s Prize for excellent cancer research 2022 to Marina Vietri

Marina Vietri
Marina Vietri

Marina Vietri from the Department of Molecular Cell Biology is this year's winner of the prestigious Dr. Ragnar Mørk's Prize for cancer research.

She has won the award of NOK 200.000 for her pioneering studies of nuclear envelope sealing in genome integrity and cancer progression.

The prize ceremony took place on 25th of November in the Auditorium of Institute for Cancer Research.

Earlier this year Marina Vietri was awarded the NFR Young Research Talent grant.


More news from the archive