Ceremony Friday November 18th Ragnar Mørk legacy prize 2016 to Therese Sørlie

Therese Sørlie and Harald Stenmark
Therese Sørlie and Harald Stenmark

The 2016 "Dr. Ragnar Mørk's legacy prize" went to Therese Sørlie, head of the "Breast tumor initiation and progression group" at the Department of Cancer Genetics. This award of NOK 200.000 is annually given to scientists affiliated to the Norwegian Radium Hospital who have obtained important results within the field of cancer research. The ceremony took  place on Friday November 18th in the Research Building at Montebello.
Therese Sørlie gave a lecture about the research activities that has earned her the award.

Therese Sørlie receives Dr. Ragnar Mørk's prize for 2016 for her outstanding research on breast cancer. Together with colleagues at Stanford and in Anne-Lise Børresen-Dales group at Institute for Cancer Research, Sørlie has obtained a molecular classification of breast cancers that has been of immense importance for our current understanding of breast cancer. Her recent research on breast cancer progression has opened new avenues for personalised medicine.

About Dr. Ragnar Mørk's legacy prize:

The late Torleif Mørk did in his will leave parts of his fortune to the establishment of a legacy in his father's name, Dr. Ragnar Mørk. The Legacy was established to promote the cancer research at the Norwegian Radium Hospital. As part of this support, the Board of the legacy has decided to annually award a researcher who has achieved important results in his/her research. The award is personal, and amounts to NOK 200.000.

Photos from the ceremony (click to enlarge images)

Therese Sørlie with Harald Stenmark, head of the evaluation committee. 
(photos: Daniel Nebdal)
She gave an interesting lecture on the subject that earned her the award (photo: Peter Wiedswang)



Therese Sørlie's publications

Home page of the Breast tumor initiation and progression group

Department of Cancer Genetics

Previous years winners of the Ragnar Mørks' legacy prize:

2015: Guro E. Lind
2014: Arne Kolstad
2013: Kjersti Flatmark
2012: Vessela N. Kristensen
2011: Camilla Raiborg
2010: Heidi Lyng
2009: Rolf I. Skotheim
2008: Tor Erik Rusten
2007: Anne Simonsen
2006: Bjørn Naume
2005: Gunhild Mælandsmo
2004: Mouldy Sioud

2003: Ragnhild A. Lothe
2002: Antoni Wiedlocha
2001: Eivind Hovig

Page visits: 9470