The organizational structure of NoPSC :

NoPSC has "center status" at the Medical Faculty, University of Oslo and is organized within Oslo University Hospital as a section (level 4 unit) within the Department of Transplantation Medicine at the Clinic for Surgery, Inflammatory Diseases and Transplantation. To maximize the translational opportunities of NoPSC, two of the three research groups comprising NoPSC are organized at the Research Institute of Internal Medicine, Oslo University Hospital (OUS) and one within the Section for Gastroenterology and Hepatology at the Department of Transplantation Medicine.

Internally, NoPSC is organized with an external Monitoring Committee, a Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), a Management, three Research groups and a Biobank.

Monitoring committee

Leader Professor Dag Kvale,
Head of the Institute of Clinical Medicine
University of Oslo
Astrid Aksnessæther
Assistant Director 
Institute of Clinical Medicine,
University of Oslo
Nina Paulsen
Canica A/S
Daniel Sørli
Canica A/S
Prof. Bente Halvorsen
Div. of Surgery, Inflammatory Medicine and Transplantation,
OUS Rikshospitalet
Dr. Morten Tandberg Eriksen
Head of Div. Surgery, Inflammatory Medicine and Transplantation,
OUS Rikshospitalet

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The NoPSC Scientific Advisory Board was formally established in 2015.
Board members from 2023:

© Simone Baar/ Charité
Professor Ole Andreassen,
University of Oslo,
Professor Pål Rasmus Njølstad,
University of Bergen,
Professor Frank Tacke,
Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany 

Guest professors

A successful guest professor program was established since the beginning of NoPSC.

From 2023 the guest professors are:

Dr. Jan Tchorz,
Basel, Sveits
Dr. Fotios Sampaziotis
University of Cambridge,
Professor Tom Lüdde,
University Clinic,
Dusseldorf, Germany


Prof. Tom Hemming Karlsen
Center leader
Senior Scientist Trine Folseraas
Group leader
Prof. Espen Melum
Group leader
Prof. Johannes R. Hov
Group leader
Prof. Kirsten Muri Boberg
Prof. Mette Vesterhus
Group Leader
  Merete Tysdahl
Administrative coordinator