Ceremony November 28th: Oslo University Hospital awards 6 excellent articles for the first half-year of 2013

Oslo University Hospital rewards six research groups for their excellent papers published during the first half-year of 2013. Each group receives NOK 50.000 for use in further research. The prizes were be distributed during the Friday meeting at Ullevål November 28th. Managing director Bjørn Erikstein distributed the awards, and Erlend B. Smeland - director for research, innovation and education at OUS - chaired the meeting. The award winners gave short presentations of the main findings in their respective articles.

In order to stimulate excellent research and draw attention to the hospital's extensive research activity, Oslo University Hospital reward outstanding publications regularly. Every half-year, six of the very best papers authored by scientists working on the hospital (first or last author must be affiliated to OUS) are selected. The nomination takes place through the research panel of each division. The final selection process is performed by an external committee.

The six selected articles are of especially high quality, and they present important finding on both-short and long-term scales. The works reflect the good quality and the interdisciplinarity that characterises several research environments at Oslo University Hospital, which the hospital is very proud of. The research is a fundamental condition for the institution to maintain and strenghten the quality in the patient treatment, says Erlend B. Smeland.

The articles are nominated by the research panels in the hospitals respective clinics. Then they have been evaluated by an external committee, who have selected six winners. The leader of the committee was Sigbjørn Fossum from the Faculty of Medicine, Institute of Basic Medical Sciences.

First authors, from left: Bjørn Dalhus, Andreas Barratt-Due, Bendik S, Winsvold, Håvard Ove Skjerven, Trygve Husebye, Øystein Sandanger. Photo: Ram Gupta, Oslo University Hospital. (click to enlarge image)

The six articles awarded as winners for the first half-year of 2013:
(listed alphabetically after the name of the division mainly responsible):

Division of Cancer Medicine, Surgery and Transplantation

The NLRP3 inflammasome is up-regulated in cardiac fibroblasts and mediates myocardial ischaemia-reperfusion injury.
Sandanger Ø, Ranheim T, Vinge LE, Bliksøen M, Alfsnes K, Finsen AV, Dahl CP, Askevold ET, Florholmen G, Christensen G, Fitzgerald KA, Lien E, Valen G, Espevik T, Aukrust P, Yndestad A.
Cardiovasc Res. 2013 Jul 1;99(1):164-74. doi: 10.1093/cvr/cvt091. Epub 2013 Apr 10.

Division of Diagnostics and Intervention

Sculpting of DNA at abasic sites by DNA glycosylase homolog mag2.
Dalhus B, Nilsen L, Korvald H, Huffman J, Forstrøm RJ, McMurray CT, Alseth I, Tainer JA, Bjørås M.
Structure. 2013 Jan 8;21(1):154-66. doi: 10.1016/j.str.2012.11.004. Epub 2012 Dec 13.

Division of Diagnostics and Intervention

Combined inhibition of complement C5 and CD14 markedly attenuates inflammation, thrombogenicity, and hemodynamic changes in porcine sepsis.
Barratt-Due A, Thorgersen EB, Egge K, Pischke S, Sokolov A, Hellerud BC, Lindstad JK, Pharo A, Bongoni AK, Rieben R, Nunn M, Scott H, Mollnes TE.
J Immunol. 2013 Jul 15;191(2):819-27. doi: 10.4049/jimmunol.1201909. Epub 2013 Jun 12.

Divison of Medicine

Levosimendan in acute heart failure following primary percutaneous coronary intervention-treated acute ST-elevation myocardial infarction. Results from the LEAF trial: a randomized, placebo-controlled study.
Husebye T, Eritsland J, Müller C, Sandvik L, Arnesen H, Seljeflot I, Mangschau A, Bjørnerheim R, Andersen GØ.
Eur J Heart Fail. 2013 May;15(5):565-72. doi: 10.1093/eurjhf/hfs215. Epub 2013 Jan 2.

Division of Surgery and Clinical Neuroscience

Genome-wide meta-analysis identifies new susceptibility loci for migraine.
Anttila V, Winsvold BS, Gormley P, Kurth T, Bettella F, McMahon G, Kallela M, Malik R, de Vries B, Terwindt G, Medland SE, Todt U, McArdle WL, Quaye L, Koiranen M, Ikram MA, Lehtimäki T, Stam AH, Ligthart L, Wedenoja J, Dunham I, Neale BM, Palta P, Hamalainen E, Schürks M, Rose LM, Buring JE, Ridker PM, Steinberg S, Stefansson H, Jakobsson F, Lawlor DA, Evans DM, Ring SM, Färkkilä M, Artto V, Kaunisto MA, Freilinger T, Schoenen J, Frants RR, Pelzer N, Weller CM, Zielman R, Heath AC, Madden PA, Montgomery GW, Martin NG, Borck G, Göbel H, Heinze A, Heinze-Kuhn K, Williams FM, Hartikainen AL, Pouta A, van den Ende J, Uitterlinden AG, Hofman A, Amin N, Hottenga JJ, Vink JM, Heikkilä K, Alexander M, Muller-Myhsok B, Schreiber S, Meitinger T, Wichmann HE, Aromaa A, Eriksson JG, Traynor BJ, Trabzuni D, Rossin E, Lage K, Jacobs SB, Gibbs JR, Birney E, Kaprio J, Penninx BW, Boomsma DI, van Duijn C, Raitakari O, Jarvelin MR, Zwart JA, Cherkas L, Strachan DP, Kubisch C, Ferrari MD, van den Maagdenberg AM, Dichgans M, Wessman M, Smith GD, Stefansson K, Daly MJ, Nyholt DR, Chasman DI, Palotie A; North American Brain Expression Consortium; UK Brain Expression Consortium; International Headache Genetics Consortium.
Nat Genet. 2013 Aug;45(8):912-7. doi: 10.1038/ng.2676. Epub 2013 Jun 23.

Women and Children's Division

Racemic adrenaline and inhalation strategies in acute bronchiolitis.
Skjerven HO, Hunderi JO, Brügmann-Pieper SK, Brun AC, Engen H, Eskedal L, Haavaldsen M, Kvenshagen B, Lunde J, Rolfsjord LB, Siva C, Vikin T, Mowinckel P, Carlsen KH, Lødrup Carlsen KC.
N Engl J Med. 2013 Jun 13;368(24):2286-93. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1301839.


Article about the research awards from www.oslo-universitetssykehus.no (in Norwegian):
Sykehuset gjør stas på forskningsgrupper 

Page visits: 6501