Norwegian version of this page

Oslo Neurosurgical Neurotrauma Group

This research group studies the outcomes of neurosurgical procedures at Oslo University Hospital.

About the group

The studies cover quality assurance, patient selection for surgery, surgical procedures, treatment-related complications and long-term outcomes of treatment. They mainly include the following patient groups:

  • Brain Tumors
  • Intraspinal Tumors
  • Traumatic Brain Injury – TBI
  • Cervical Spine Fractures
  • Outpatient Surgery
  • Degenerative spinal disorders


  • Ultrasound of the optic nerve sheath as a non-invasive tool in the assessment of intracranial pressure in patients with traumatic brain injury
  • Acute management of traumatic brain injury at Oslo University Hospital
  • Cerebral venous thrombosis in traumatic brain injury (CVT in TBI)
  • Management of acute odontoid fractures
  • Epidemiology and Surgery in Traumatic Cervical Spine Fractures
  • Neuronavigation in surgical fixation of cervical fractures
  • Outpatient degenerative spine surgery
  • Impact of preinjury antithrombotic therapy on 30–day mortality in older patients hospitalized with traumatic brain injury (TBI)
  • Tocilizumab (RoActemra) and Tranexamic acid (Cyklokapron) used as adjuncts to chronic subdural hematoma surgery. A Randomized Clinical Trial
  • Surgery for primary intraspinal tumors
  • The impact of demographic characteristics and non-inherited factors on the risk of primary brain tumors: A prospective population based cohort study
  • Bicycle related neck- and traumatic brain injuries
  • TBI and seizures
  • Collaborative European NeuroTrauma Effectiveness Research in Traumatic Brain Injury (CENTER-TBI)

Quality control registries

  • The Oslo TBI Registry – Neurosurgery (TBI patients admitted to OUH with imaged verified TBI)
  • The Oslo Neck fracture Registry (All neck fractures in South – East Norway (HSØ))
  • The Oslo Brain Tumor Registry – Neurosurgery (All brain tumor patients treated with surgery at OUH)


  • 2022 Cathrine Buaas Tverdal. Traumatic Brain Injury 
  • 2021 Ali Rizvi. Cervical trauma; management of odontoid fractures in the elderly 
  • 2020 Benjamin Lykkedrange Lassen. Complications after craniotomy for brain tumors
  • 2017 Pål Rønning. Traumatic brain injury: challenges in prognostication and the impact of intracranial pressure monitoring
  • 2017 Markus Wiedmann. Height Body mass index and risk for primary tumors of the central nervous system
  • 2017 Ben Heskestad. Minimal, mild and moderate traumatic brain injury in Rogaland
  • 2017 Hege Linnerud Fredø. Epidemiology and surgery in traumatic cervical spine fractures
  • 2016 Jon-Terje Ramm-Pettersen. Transshenoidal surgery for pituitary adenomas
  • 2014 Siril Gudmundson Rogne. Surgery for malignant intracranial tumors in adults
  • 2014 Ane Konglund. Surgery for brain tumors in the elderly
  • 2012 Bjarne Lied. Complications and clinical outcomes after surgery for symptomatic subaxial cervical degenerative disease
  • 2008 Bernt Johan Due-Tønnessen. Posterior fossa tumours in children



  • Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, OUH - Nada Hadzic-Andelic
  • Cancer Registry of Norway
  • The Nord-Trøndelag Health Study HUNT
  • Trauma Registry, OUH - Torsten Eken and Nils Oddvar Skaga
  • Prof Andelic, Departement of Nursing Science, UiO
  • Department of Neuro-Oncology, OUH
  • Department of Neuro-radiology, OUH
  • Department of Neuro-pathology, OUH
  • Department of Neurology, OUH
  • Department of Cardiology, OUH
  • Department of Anesthesiology, OUH


  • Collaborative European NeuroTrauma Effectiveness Research in Traumatic Brain Injury (CENTER-TBI)
Published Sep. 17, 2021 2:58 PM - Last modified Sep. 8, 2022 12:37 PM


Group leader

Project leaders

  • Frode Kolstad
  • Hege Linnerud
  • Jon Ramm-Pettersen
  • Mads Aarhus
  • Pål A Rønning
  • Milo Stanisic


  • Eirik Helseth
  • Einar O. Vik-Mo
  • Petter Brandal
  • Bjarne Lied
  • Tom Børge Johannesen
  • Charlotte Marie Halvorsen
  • Markus Wiedmann
  • Tor Brommeland
  • Jarle Sundseth
  • Ali Rizvi
  • Christina Teisner Høstmælingen
  • Cathrine Buaas Tverdal
  • Ingar Næss
  • Jalal Mirzamohammadi
  • Dag Ferner Netteland
  • Nils Christian Utheim
  • Pål Nicolay Rydning
  • Mats Døving
  • Pål Galteland
  • Hild Flatmark Sødal
Detailed list of participants